关于我们

组建,会员和服务区

Windham地区交通区是根据103的康涅狄格州总法规1979a章节与温德姆,曼斯菲尔德和考文垂投票加入的。 随后,阿什福德和哥伦比亚加入了该区。 来自这五个城镇的代表每季度或更频繁地会面,就管理该地区事务所需的事项采取行动。 然而,WRTD的服务区域包括Windham地区的所有九个城镇(Ashford,Chaplin,Columbia,Coventry,Lebanon,Mansfield,Scotland,Willington和Windham。)

产品服务

拨号A-换乘 在1976秋季开始为该地区服务。 WRTD成为1981七月份Dial-A-Ride的主要资金来源,提供联邦和州资金来补贴服务。 该 Storrs-Willimantic Bus 固定路线服务于10月开始运营1981。 该 Willimantic城市公交车 固定路线服务于3月开始运营1989。 该 Willimantic-Norwich Rt。 32通勤巴士 Willimantic-Norwich和Foxwoods Resort Casino之间的服务始于4月的2000。 虽然所有WRTD服务都向公众开放,但Willimantic-Norwich Rt。 32通勤巴士服务特别旨在帮助个人获得就业和就业相关的活动。Willimantic-Danielson偏离固定路线 2007将于9月开始每天两次连接WRTD和东北地区交通区的服务。

资金

支付WRTD服务的资金来自 联邦运输管理局中, 康涅狄格州交通局,Windham地区的十个城镇,票价,捐赠和广告收入。


WRTD提供的好处

游戏机

在7月200,000和6月2017之间,WRTD的各种服务提供了近乎2018的乘客旅行。

流动性

提供以下无法提供的移动性:

  • 永久或暂时没有汽车,有限车辆或不开车的人;
  • 那些因临时或永久性伤害或残疾而妨碍使用汽车的人;
  • 那些需要支持服务才能继续住在家里的人(医疗服务,食品购物等);
  • 没有这种服务的人将被迫进入昂贵的个性化护理,例如养老院,可能需要公共费用。

经济与就业

将客户带到该地区的零售中心,并为区域业务提供更多销售。 改善就业机会和就业培训机会。

教育履历

提供教育机会 康涅狄格大学, 东康涅狄格州立大学, Quinebaug Valley社区学院, 温德姆技术高中, 温德姆高中, EO史密斯高中,以及 曼斯菲尔德公共图书馆 以及 Willimantic公共图书馆.

停车位

减少区域零售和就业中心对停车位的需求。

清新的空气

减少拥挤该地区道路的车辆数量,从而减少空气污染。

安全第一

减少道路上的车辆数量,减少交通拥堵,减少事故。

协调

WRTD在该地区内协调自己的运输服务,与该地区的其他运营商协调。

About Us

Contact WRTD

WRTD's Office

Mailing Address:
28 South Frontage Road, Mansfield Center, CT 06250
Telephone:
(860) 456-2223
Telecommunications Device for the Deaf ServiceTDD service:
800-833-8134
Fax:
(860) 456-1235
E-mail:
info@wrtd.net
Office Hours:
Monday-Friday, 8:00am to 4:00pm

WRTD History

Formation, Members, & Service Area

The Windham Region Transit District was formed in accordance with Chapter 103a of the Connecticut General Statutes in 1979 with the towns of Windham, Mansfield, and Coventry voting to join. Subsequently, Ashford, and Columbia joined the district. Representatives from these five towns meet quarterly, or more frequently, to act on matters necessary in managing the district’s affairs. WRTD’s service area, however, includes all nine towns of the Windham Region (Ashford, Chaplin, Columbia, Coventry, Lebanon, Mansfield, Scotland, Willington and Windham.)

Services

Dial-A-Ride began serving the region in the fall of 1976. WRTD became the primary funding source of Dial-A-Ride in July of 1981, providing federal and state funds to subsidize the service. The Storrs-Willimantic Bus fixed route service began operations in October of 1981. The Willimantic City Bus fixed route service began operations in March of 1989. The Willimantic-Norwich Rt. 32 Commuter Bus service between Willimantic-Norwich and Foxwoods Resort Casino began in April of 2000. While all WRTD services are open to the public, the Willimantic-Norwich Rt. 32 Commuter Bus Service is particularly intended to help individuals access employment and employment-related activities.Willimantic-Danielson Deviated Fixed Route service connecting WRTD and Northeast Area Transit District twice a day began in September, 2007.

Funding

Funds to pay for WRTD’s services come from the Federal Transit Administration, the Connecticut Department of Transportation, the ten towns of the Windham Region, fares, donations, and advertising revenue.


Benefits Provided by WRTD

Rides

A combined total of over 2 million passenger trips have been provided on WRTD’s various services through June 2002.

Mobility

Provides mobility not otherwise available to:

  • those permanently or temporarily without a car, with limited access to a car, or those who don’t drive;
  • those with temporary or permanent injuries or disabilities which prevent use of a car;
  • those who need support services in order to continue to live in their homes (medical services, food shopping, etc.);
  • those who without such service would be forced into costly personalized care such as a nursing home, possibly at public cost.

Economic & Employment

Brings customers to the region’s retail centers and provides increased sales to area businesses. Improves access to jobs and job training opportunities.

Education

Provides access to educational opportunities at the University of Connecticut, Eastern Connecticut State University, Quinebaug Valley Community College, Windham Technical High School, Windham High School, E.O. Smith High School, as well as the Mansfield Public Library and the Willimantic Public Library.

Parking

Reduces the need for parking spaces at area retail and employment centers.

Clean Air

Decreases the number of vehicles crowding the region’s roads, thereby lessening air pollution.

Safety

Reduces the number of vehicles on the roads resulting in fewer traffic jams and fewer accidents.

Coordination

WRTD coordinates its own transit services within the region with those of other carriers serving the region.